In 2020 we introduced the MGAC Club Champs and it was fantastic to see so many of you trying out new competition formats and taking part in what was a great series.

The MGAC Club Champs includes four events to be shot during the membership year.

From 2021 we also have a Club Champion of Champions.

To be eligible for the Champion of Champions trophy, members need to take part in 3 of the 4 scheduled events.

mountain green open day traditional archery

2023 Event Dates

Please keep an eye out for updates and entry forms closer to the time.

Target Outdoor Champs – Sat 1 April (Short FITA @ outdoor range)
Clout Champs – TBC End May – hosted at Rutherford College
Indoor Champs – Sun 16 July (tentative)
Field Champs & Prizegiving
– Sun 24 Sep (tentative)

Champion of Champions is awarded as follows:

1) To be eligible, archers need to compete in 3 of the 4 club champ events

2) Archer need to shoot in the same category (see point 3) in all events. Event divisions will be as per Archery New Zealand rules (documented in the Shooting Rules section 1.1 and 1.2)

Novice division for archers who have had less than 1 years archery experience, archer can only shoot in this division for ONE season

3) MGAC Champion of Champions to be awarded in the following 5 categories:

  • Novice (combined men/women i.e. ONE Novice award)
  • Club Junior Men (U17 Cadet or younger)
  • Club Junior Women (U17 Cadet or younger)
  • Club Senior Men (ANZ Junior, Senior+)
  • Club Senior Women (ANZ Junior, Senior+)

All of the above are regardless of bow style.
Each bow style and age division has the appropriate distance and target face sizes for the event. This will be used as the “equalizing” factor

4) Points awarded in each event based on placings within each of the 5 categories above

  • 1st = 10pt
  • 2nd = 7pt
  • 3rd = 5pt
  • 4th = 3pt
  • 5th = 2pt
  • Participating = 1pt

5) Winner in each category decided on highest total points (in case of a tie, the placing in the Target Event will be the decider)